PaulsCode Forum

Mupen64Plus AE => Support => Topic started by: orphan on April 27, 2012, 02:17:11 AM

Title: help with wiimote
Post by: orphan on April 27, 2012, 02:17:11 AM
Hello,

So I just grabbed this app. The games I've tried appear to run smoothly from the limited experience I've had. The problem is I can't get my wiimote to work properly. I'm trying to use the classic controller, but nothing works besides the left analog stick which I have bound to the n64 analog stick. I've mapped all the keys appropriately but nothing works... The registered buttons don't change or anything like that. The controller works fine in other emulators so I'm not sure what's going on here. I'm playing on a Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 running Honeycomb.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on April 27, 2012, 03:25:09 AM
How are you connecting the controller (Wiimote Controller, Bluez IME, etc?)  Also, what happens in the key mapping process exactly (dialog popup stays open, dialog closes and keycode shows "not mapped", or dialog closes and a keycode shows up?)
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: orphan on April 27, 2012, 09:25:08 PM
I'm using WiimoteController. The key maps register, the dialogue box opens, I press the key, and it closes with "keycode 'number'" registered to the action. 'Number' being an actual two digit number.
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on April 27, 2012, 10:26:48 PM
This sounds like the same problem hortino had before.  Could you try a "Restore App Data" to see if that fixes the problem?  That should be equivalent to uninstalling and reinstalling the app, which is what fixed hortino's problem.  Let me know if that helps or not.
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: orphan on April 28, 2012, 02:07:29 AM
No change. Thanks for the replies though.
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on April 28, 2012, 03:03:49 AM
Hmm..  Ok, next I'll write you a test to run.  I'll post it later today (just tracking down a different bug at the moment)
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: paed808 on May 03, 2012, 11:55:50 AM
Having the same problem. In 1.8.2 there was no problem with the classic controller. In 1.99.5 only the left analog stick works and the d-pad is handling the start button for some reason. Wiimote controller IME
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on May 03, 2012, 12:04:39 PM
Weird, so same thing where the buttons map ok in the Input settings, but don't operate correctly in-game?
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: paed808 on May 03, 2012, 12:05:57 PM
Weird, so same thing where the buttons map ok in the Input settings, but don't operate correctly in-game?
Yes.
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on May 03, 2012, 12:16:04 PM
It's got to be something with the config files, I'm thinking.  I'll try Wiimote controller IME to see if I can reproduce the problem (I have a wiimote classic controller around somewhere)
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on May 03, 2012, 12:19:38 PM
Could you post the logcat, btw, after starting up a game?  I should check if maybe it is trying to use AutoInputCfg.ini instead of mupen64plus.cfg for some reason.  Also, could you check the folders to see if mupen64plus.cfg is maybe in two places?  It should only be in Android/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus, and not in Android/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus/data.
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: paed808 on May 03, 2012, 12:33:31 PM
The cfg file is only in Android/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus
Here's the logcat http://db.tt/w5Xd9IOx
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on May 03, 2012, 01:01:48 PM
Oh, thanks I think I see the problem (doesn't have the version in some sections, so it's using defaults).  I thought I had fixed that, but must have not included it in the APK.
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on May 03, 2012, 05:15:29 PM
Hmm.. it looks like the version is in there correctly.  I wonder if maybe it is looking in the wrong folder for the config file..  does your device have more than one storage area mounted (such as mnt/sdcard and mnt/sdcard2 or something)?  This could be a logic bug in my code, since my phone only has one storage area, mounted at /mnt/sdcard.  The only other thing I can think of that would cause the version to get stripped away is running an old version of the emulator (like 1.4 or something) or possibly N64 4 Droid, but I doubt that is what's going on in your case (either way, I'll add a checker into the code in case it happens to someone else).
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on May 03, 2012, 06:56:47 PM
I fixed a couple config-related things in RC 10 (probably not related to your problem though).  I added some debug messages in to hopefully help me narrow the problem down, though.

Please uninstall the app completely, and make sure the folder Android/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus is gone (if you have more than one storage area, such as /mnt/sdcard and /mnt/sdcard2, please check both).

Then install and post the logcat after starting a game:

Signed APK, RC 10 (http://www.paulscode.com/source/Mupen64Plus-AE/03MAY2012/Mupen64Plus.apk)
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: paed808 on May 03, 2012, 07:46:21 PM
I uninstalled and reinstalled  RC 10  and the wii classic controller seems to be working normally again.

I ran alogcat anyways. Here it is if you need it: http://db.tt/MNIQg1Dl
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: Paul on May 03, 2012, 08:23:14 PM
Oh, great.  I must have corrected it with one of the other fixes I did.  The logcat looks normal :)
Title: Re: help with wiimote
Post by: orphan on May 04, 2012, 07:49:14 PM
Thank you! This issue is fixed for me as well, the Wiimote works flawlessly now.