Author Topic: Rice to OpenGL2.1 and OpenGL ES 2  (Read 7405 times)

Offline Narann

• byte
  • mupen64plus Rice dev
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Rice to OpenGL2.1 and OpenGL ES 2
« on: December 01, 2014, 04:49:49 PM »
Hello buddies!  ;D

I realize here is maybe the most active place talking about mupen64plus devs, even if it's mainly AE related there is a lot of work pushed back in the main repo (I think it's good!).

When I see how few N64 scene is it's a shame we are all separate.

So, as you maybe know, I've tried very hard to push Rice OpenGL 2.1 and OpenGL ES 2 compliant and remove gl2es. The idea was to limit as branching as possible and have a Rice version that should compile smoothly for Desktop and Smartphones.

I have no experience is smartphone. I know you are the most well placed guys to give me feedbacks and this is why I'm here. :)

@littleguy, if you read my code you will see I've put all what you merged back to rice as the main code path now. I tried as much a possible to remove every dependencies to old opengl.

So, if put the "official" (without too much hack) Rice version to AE (and possibly other) would be possible I would be glad to help.

Please tell me what is wrong (I'm sure there is) with the current state of Rice before I ask Richard to merge all of this into the main repo.

Here is my original mail on the mupen64plus mailing list:

Hi guys!

I've finally push the most boring code part to do on a open source
project: Prepare extension calls! :D

This was necessary to bring back the cross platform stuff m64p project
is supposed to be.

So at this stage, the repo should compile at the same cross platform
level than before all my changes.

Next: "From what I understand", you "should" be able to compile in
OpenGL ES. I say should because for now, the only way I've been able to
tests for OGLES is hardcoding the driver flag in the Makefile:196, use
USE_GLES, and maybe hide some #if SDL_VIDEO_OPENGL stuff in osal_opengl.h.