Author Topic: 3.0 Alpha Testing  (Read 292573 times)

Offline Gillou68310

  • Developer
  • long
  • *****
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #495 on: January 20, 2015, 11:01:01 AM »
Thanks Jermain, I didn't know the nexus 5 has a Cortex A15 processor :o

Offline Jermain

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #496 on: January 20, 2015, 11:04:49 AM »
Guys you can upload 2 different versions of the app on the google play store, And the play store will serve the normal build to everybody else and the Cortex a15 build to supporting devices.

It's possible for differend opengl versions, I don't know if it supports different Cortex versions.

read up on it here:

https://developer.android.com/distribute/googleplay/developer-console.html

or just test it out on the play store yourself. whoever is having the playstore account.

Offline Jermain

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #497 on: January 20, 2015, 11:06:09 AM »
@Gillou68310 yes it has a krait core snapdragon 800, which is like a cortex 15.

« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 11:08:45 AM by Jermain »

Offline Gillou68310

  • Developer
  • long
  • *****
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #498 on: January 20, 2015, 11:06:31 AM »
Quote
Edit: Worst-case, we could bundle a separate .so file for A15, and select the appropriate one at runtime... would be transparent to the user (but add to the app size).

@littleguy actually I thing this is the best way to handle it

Offline retroben

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #499 on: January 20, 2015, 12:15:15 PM »
I wonder if there is anything similar for Adreno GPUs. :P
It would be cool to see it not lag quite as much because of Qualcomm's Adreno weakness. :(
Though,I read something from a few years ago on here that Qualcomm Adreno already got some kind of performance fix involving a screen touch fps issue.

@Gillou:Here's to hoping there is a proper instruction you could find that can enhance performance on the Adreno GPUs,if you are willing to do so. (or CPU if that is the problem)

Offline Gillou68310

  • Developer
  • long
  • *****
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #500 on: January 20, 2015, 12:51:23 PM »
Quote
@Gillou68310 yes it has a krait core snapdragon 800, which is like a cortex 15.

Lol thanks for the info I have the same processor on my phone and I didn't even know it's based on cortex A15

Offline Gillou68310

  • Developer
  • long
  • *****
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #501 on: January 20, 2015, 01:05:40 PM »
I found an intersting post from sonicadvance (dolphin dev)
https://developer.qualcomm.com/forum/qdevnet-forums/general-discussion/26532

Offline retroben

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #502 on: January 20, 2015, 02:18:37 PM »
*reads linked page*
Possibly dumb question: About your DIV/DIVU build,what position does that put my Qualcomm Krait with Adreno in?
I have VFPv4 as well,according to PPSSPP's helpful info listing feature.

I guess that if you were to add the instructions mentioned in that page,it may help Qualcomm's performance and maybe even more,provided that it can be used on Mupen64Plus AE.

Edit:IDIVa and IDIVt are also actually listed when viewed on PPSSPP! ;D
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 02:25:13 PM by retroben »

Offline xperia64

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #503 on: January 20, 2015, 02:23:55 PM »
All the games I tried with the divi/divu test run very smoothly. The remaining audio crackling from skipping is gone in smash and conker.

Offline retroben

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #504 on: January 21, 2015, 12:27:28 AM »
My Adreno runs it just fine,or did you mean just the optimization would not work on non Cortex devices?

Offline Gillou68310

  • Developer
  • long
  • *****
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #505 on: January 21, 2015, 04:40:39 AM »
Quote
Edit:IDIVa and IDIVt are also actually listed when viewed on PPSSPP! ;D

IDIVa is actually the cpu feature required to be able to run the "Integer Divide" build.

Everyone can check if it's available in the hardware info page (look for "Features")

Offline rafar

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #506 on: January 21, 2015, 05:40:02 AM »
I dont know if this info is useful for you but I found the next info in that page, I have a lg g2 (snapdragon 800)

Features: swp half thumb fastmult
vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls vfpv4 idiva
idivt
CPU implementer : 0x51
CPU arquitecture : 7
CPU varia : 0x2
CPU part: 0x06f
CPUrevision : 0

Offline littleguy

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #507 on: January 21, 2015, 06:46:43 AM »
Edit:IDIVa and IDIVt are also actually listed when viewed on PPSSPP! ;D

As Gilles said, you can also obtain the info directly from mupen64plus-ae alpha builds.  From the gallery, tap About -> Hardware info and scroll down.  Press the Share button to copy/paste or do whatever you want with the info.
2012 Nexus 7, rooted stock Lollipop
Samsung Galaxy Victory, rooted stock Jelly Bean
Xperia PLAY, stock Gingerbread
OUYA, retail version

Offline Gillou68310

  • Developer
  • long
  • *****
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #508 on: January 21, 2015, 07:53:03 AM »
I updated the "integer divide" branch. The IDIVa feature is now auto detected at runtime and used if available. Also I'm sending the list of available features to the log, so everyone can check the log to be sure the feature is actually being used.
http://www.paulscode.com/source/Mupen64Plus-AE/AutoBuilds/Mupen64PlusAE_integer-divide_201501210801_e250b48.apk
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 01:13:52 PM by Gillou68310 »

Offline IDSG

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #509 on: January 21, 2015, 08:54:03 AM »
I updated the "integer divide" branch. The IDIVa feature is now auto detected at runtime and used if available. Also I'm sending the list of available features to the log, so everyone can check the log to be sure the feature is actually being used.

So if the CPU don't have the IDIVa feature it will use the DMULT solution? or it will use the normal approach?