Author Topic: 3.0 Alpha Testing  (Read 330958 times)

Offline littleguy

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #165 on: December 11, 2014, 10:53:27 PM »
@Paul Alpha7 can be published if you wish, as of this commit.

Spent the evening hunting down the regressions.  They weren't where I was expecting.  In my testing it appears they are all gone.  I didn't change anything upstream; I simply backed off on how aggressively I synced from upstream.

Glide should perform identically on Alpha7 and Alpha4.  If anyone finds any differences, just let us know.
2012 Nexus 7, rooted stock Lollipop
Samsung Galaxy Victory, rooted stock Jelly Bean
Xperia PLAY, stock Gingerbread
OUYA, retail version

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #166 on: December 11, 2014, 11:56:37 PM »
Here is latest build.  I left my phone at work today, so couldn't verify build other than making sure it launched in the emulator.  Hopefully no problems:

Alpha 7 (Address glide64 regressions) fa36871
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline retroben

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #167 on: December 12, 2014, 01:01:39 AM »
Alpha 7:Works great with DK64 again. ;D

I also have a screenshot of a first swap between glN64 to Glide64 if you need to see it.
Funky's Armory bananas look really rotten with a solid black texture in the middle in that first run.
Opened it again with restart and the texture was fine,but the stretching and tree teleport glitches have returned.

The fastforward is still causing brief slowdown at first whenever used before actually bringing up the speed.
Here's to hoping the atari graphics bug doesn't show up again.

Offline Zaneris

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #168 on: December 12, 2014, 08:07:55 AM »
Confirmed that Alpha 7 removes the fps drops on frame buffer effects, but, the frame buffer effects are gone as well.

Hopefully the core developers can come up with something a little less resource intensive...

Offline littleguy

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #169 on: December 12, 2014, 08:25:40 AM »
the frame buffer effects are gone as well.

Were they there in alpha4?  If so, can you suggest a game that I can easily test with (or provide a savestate)?
2012 Nexus 7, rooted stock Lollipop
Samsung Galaxy Victory, rooted stock Jelly Bean
Xperia PLAY, stock Gingerbread
OUYA, retail version

Offline Zaneris

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #170 on: December 12, 2014, 09:42:41 AM »
@littleguy, just checked and they weren't in alpha 4 for Glide, only 5.

The easiest game to see them quickly I think is banjo kazooie since you get that transparent puzzle piece transition effect as soon as you press start at the loading screen. Black without FB effects, and transparent with.

I don't think they're worth implementing for mobile due to the performance impact.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2014, 09:50:45 AM by Zaneris »

Offline littleguy

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #171 on: December 12, 2014, 10:15:48 AM »
Thanks much for clearing that up.

On a related note, has anyone observed any regressions between the published version on Google Play (2.4.4) and Alpha7?

Regarding the front-end, I was thinking it might be useful to place a copy of mupen64plus.cfg in each game-specific directory, rather than using a universal one for all games.  That way experts/testers can make hand modifications to the file (e.g. for the advanced options not exposed in the front-end) on a game-by-game basis.  Agreed?
2012 Nexus 7, rooted stock Lollipop
Samsung Galaxy Victory, rooted stock Jelly Bean
Xperia PLAY, stock Gingerbread
OUYA, retail version

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #172 on: December 12, 2014, 10:46:36 AM »
Yes, that sounds like a good idea to me.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Zaneris

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #173 on: December 12, 2014, 11:52:34 AM »
Yes, that sounds like a good idea to me.
+1, average user won't know it exists and power users could benefit.

Offline retroben

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #174 on: December 12, 2014, 01:40:08 PM »
We already can make changes,I just changed Kirby 64's buffer clear to 1 as a trade off for getting rid of the yellow plaid glitch.
Doing so sacrifices the theater texture by clearing it off the screen,leaving you with a smaller game screen.

I hope to find a 60fps code for Kirby64 today since the cutscenes use that framerate and I can exploit it. ;D

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #175 on: December 12, 2014, 01:47:33 PM »
We already can make changes,I just changed Kirby 64's buffer clear to 1 as a trade off for getting rid of the yellow plaid glitch.

Littleguy was talking about global settings in the main config (versus the game-specific video plugin sections as in glide64's ini)  This would allow you to make game-specific changes to global settings so you wouldn't have to keep going back in and edit the file every time you wanted to switch to a different game.  (ties in well with the UI's game-specific settings concept)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline retroben

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #176 on: December 12, 2014, 01:59:55 PM »
Oh,still pretty easy to do the other way thanks to ES File Explorer.

Edit:Here's the Kirby 64 code I mentioned.

Max Frames
800492D9 0001
02=Default
This makes the game run in 60fps but sadly at double speed of the 120VI internal refresh rate.
One upside is that it makes the game faster pace for a new fun challenge.

Frameskip
800492DB 00xx
Helps anyone with a lower end Android device that can't get any speed.
01=Default
02=One Frame
03=Two Frames

I had a blast in my Mupen64Plus AE 60fps test run. ;D
I may try to find a game speed code to make it half speed to balance out the 60fps to match it with 60VI.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2014, 03:00:45 PM by retroben »

Offline SuperL

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #177 on: December 12, 2014, 11:59:42 PM »
So, I tried the latest alpha.

I'm not familiar with the technical nitty-gritty as you guys are, but I am amazed as how well some of these games ran. Donkey Kong 64 is actually playable now, even it does crash after exiting.

Are you guys planning on putting a "hide status bar" feature for pre-Kit Kat firmwares? Some other emulators have that and I think it would be useful here too.

Offline Zaneris

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #178 on: December 13, 2014, 09:36:51 AM »
So, I tried the latest alpha.

I'm not familiar with the technical nitty-gritty as you guys are, but I am amazed as how well some of these games ran. Donkey Kong 64 is actually playable now, even it does crash after exiting.

Are you guys planning on putting a "hide status bar" feature for pre-Kit Kat firmwares? Some other emulators have that and I think it would be useful here too.
Can you think of any that have this feature off the top of your head?

Offline littleguy

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: 3.0 Alpha Testing
« Reply #179 on: December 13, 2014, 10:26:13 AM »
Are you guys planning on putting a "hide status bar" feature for pre-Kit Kat firmwares? Some other emulators have that and I think it would be useful here too.

I didn't know that was possible without root.  On Jellybean I used to use this app and it worked fine.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.tsorn.FullScreen
2012 Nexus 7, rooted stock Lollipop
Samsung Galaxy Victory, rooted stock Jelly Bean
Xperia PLAY, stock Gingerbread
OUYA, retail version