Author Topic: Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?  (Read 5056 times)

Offline scorpio16v

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?
« on: January 15, 2012, 05:06:39 AM »
So, since there isn't much to test in the last few days, I'm toying around with some config files.
I'm trying to load hires texture packs for Mario, but I get only errors about the .png files if loaded. What is missing in the rice plugin ?

First my steps I've done before :

- on mupen64plus.cfg

Code: [Select]
[Video-Rice]

LoadHiResTextures =True


that enables rice plugin to search for textures in data/hires_texture/ROM NAME/

- created the folder in data/hires_texture/ on mupen64plus directory on sdcard.
- I put a in n64oid working folder with textures inside from hires_texture. In this case SUPER MARIO 64

But it loads only the standard texture. Logcat gives many errors "cannot get image infofor file: *** "
That's all.

Ok that's not a essential necessary feature to improove the emulator. But I'm curious about if it can work on mupen64plus - ae.

I hope Kris does further work on this plugin and shares his work for this Android port.  :)

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2012, 06:41:08 AM »
There are some sections of code that have to be uncommented and debugged to get hires textures working.  Kris sent me a PM a few days ago and said he would be done soon with some of the updates he was working on before Christmas.  Judging from the HP Touchpad thread, I think those updates might include the hires texture support.  Once he posts the update, I'll add the Android linkage and post the updated plug-in here.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline scorpio16v

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2012, 12:17:18 PM »
Did you found other settings for Rice plugin, we can use for improoving performance ?
I found only settings that breaks more the graphics than fix it.  ;D

The settings for Audio-SDL can't help to speed up emulation or stuttering ?

A mupen64plus.cgf with all possible options inside, butdisabled or uncommented would be fine for future releses.  :)

Offline Epic_bubble

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2012, 12:31:35 PM »
Does it have to be uncommented? I didn't think comments would effect the code?
Device: Xperia play
CPU: Qualcomm 1 GHz Scorpion (Snapdragon)
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Screen res: 854 ? 480
ROM: stock android 2.3.4 rooted

Offline Potticus

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2012, 12:45:43 PM »
I think what he's saying is that specific lines of code are uncommented and they need to be recommented so that the res packs work. Not that the comments themselves affect the situation.

Offline scorpio16v

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2012, 12:46:41 PM »
I don't know if settings who needs a value can be inside the config whithout causing an error.
Most settings needs only 0/1 or True/False.
But maybe someone can shed some light on it .

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2012, 01:55:38 PM »
Does it have to be uncommented? I didn't think comments would effect the code?

I mean stuff like this:

commented code:
Code: [Select]
/*  TODO: Debug this! */
/*
for( x = 0; x < infinity; x = divideByZero() )
    justDoIt()!
andTheyAllLivedHappilyEverAfter();
*/
uncommented code:
Code: [Select]
/* Haha!  Now it works! */
for( x = 0; x < infinity - 1; x = neverDivideByZero() )
   justDoIt()!
andTheyAllLivedHappilyEverAfter();

Its a way of disabling sections of code that need to be debugged, without actually deleting the text (so you can come back later to fix it).
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Epic_bubble

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: Rice plugin and hires-texture packs - what's missing ?
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2012, 02:50:52 PM »
Does it have to be uncommented? I didn't think comments would effect the code?

I mean stuff like this:

commented code:
Code: [Select]
/*  TODO: Debug this! */
/*
for( x = 0; x < infinity; x = divideByZero() )
    justDoIt()!
andTheyAllLivedHappilyEverAfter();
*/
uncommented code:
Code: [Select]
/* Haha!  Now it works! */
for( x = 0; x < infinity - 1; x = neverDivideByZero() )
   justDoIt()!
andTheyAllLivedHappilyEverAfter();

Its a way of disabling sections of code that need to be debugged, without actually deleting the text (so you can come back later to fix it).

Ah yes I understand what you mean now! I commented a lot of old code in my minecraft program just in case I need to go back use it to troubleshoot my new code. (My original code was very messy so I wanted to re-do it).
Device: Xperia play
CPU: Qualcomm 1 GHz Scorpion (Snapdragon)
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Screen res: 854 ? 480
ROM: stock android 2.3.4 rooted