Author Topic: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)  (Read 1546952 times)

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3462
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« on: January 18, 2012, 08:46:05 PM »
Where do I download the app or sourcecode?
I'm maintaining links to all the latest market release builds in this thread.  The source code is available from the github repository.  I also have source code archived from before the repository was created, and can provide it upon request for anyone who wants it for comparison or anything.

Why aren't there any games?
Mupen64Plus, AE is an emulator.  I am not in any way affiliated or associated with Nintendo.  Like all emulators, Mupen64Plus, AE does not come with games (which are called ROMs).  A ROM is a digital backup of a game cartridge.  You must own that game before you can legally use the ROM.  Therefore, for legal reasons, you must provide the ROMs yourself.   While it is easy to google up N64 ROM download sites, it is important to note that it is ILLEGAL to download a game that you do not own.  Your best bet to avoid any legal concerns is to simply backup your own N64 cartridges to ROM files and use those.  The process is fairly simple and doesn't cost much.  I've posted instructions in this thread.

I have some ROMs, why aren't they showing up?
When run for the first time, Mupen64Plus checks for the folder n64/roms on your SD card.  If that doesn't exist it defaults to the SD card root folder.  If your ROMs are located somewhere else, you must navigate to whatever folder they are located in.  If you are using a 3rd-party app and don't know where the ROMs were saved, please contact the author of that app to find out where they were placed (or search for them).  Sometimes it is just easier to just transfer the ROMs to the phone from your PC.  That way you know where they are located.

Why is audio so glitchy?
This is actually not a problem with the audio.  Instead, it is caused by emulation not running fast enough (so the audio playback has to repeatedly "wait" for emulation to catch up).  It has been suggested that I should add some buffering, but this would not solve the problem either (it would just increase the time between the skips, which would be longer in duration as the audio had to re-buffer).  One possible fix would be to dynamically change the speed of playback to match the emulation, but this would only be good for minor cases (normal to extreme cases would result in noticeable pitch changes, which would be just as annoying as the skipping).  The only real solution is to improve the emulation speed.  This is something that will improve gradually over time as more and more optimizations are added to the code.  For a list of optimizations you can use now to improve speed a little, see this thread.

Why are games so slow?
Slower phones (especially ARM6 600MHz phones, which are common), have a lot of trouble running this emulator currently.  Even on the most modern devices, many higher-end games (like Conker's Bad Fur Day)  will still run slow.   The emulation speed will improve gradually over time as more and more optimizations are added to the code, but it won't happen over night.  The main settings to check for improving speed are the video plugin (in the Plugins section), frameskip (in the Video settings.. each video plugin has their own frameskip settings), and screen resolution (in the Video settings).

How do I set up my external controller(s)?
See this thread.

How does multiplayer work?
See this post.

Directions don't work on Pokemon Stadium (and some other games)
Some games require the D-Pad.  The default button layout does not have the D-Pad visible.

How do I enable the D-Pad?
Settings->Input->Touchscreen->Button Layout, then choose Digital or Both.

Directions still don't work on Pokemon Snap
Pokemon Snap has a problem in the core.  There are cheats you can use to make the game semi-playable ("Enable All Levels", "Camera Movement Bugfix", and "Picture Selection Bugfix"), but the game is still not 100% at this time.

The buttons are too tiny! (or too large)
Settings->Input->Touchscreen->Button Scale.

Donkey Kong 64, DK walks through the walls and won't enter barrels
There is a bug in Dynarec with this game.  It is playable on fast phones with R4300 emulator set to Cached/ Pure Interpreter (see the plugins section).  Use gles2rice for the video plugin (plugins section) w/ Auto Frameskip enabled (video settings), and turn down volume if skippy.  In-game saves are broken, however, so be sure to save-state often and rotate through the save slots periodically so you don't lose all progress.

How do I stop the flickering in Paper Mario
Switch the video plugin to gles2glide64 (plugins section) and set framskip to "Never skip frames" (video settings).

How do I get Conker's Bad Fur Day to work?
Switch the video plugin to gles2rice (plugins section) and enable "Auto Frameskip" (video settings).

How do I use Hi-Res textures?
First you will need to download a Hi-Res texture pack for your game.  If it isn't already, compress it into a .zip format, then put it on your device's SD card.  Select gles2rice as the video plug-in (Settings->Plug-ins->Video->gles2rice), then import the texture pack (Settings->Video->Import texture pack).  Make sure "High resolution textures" is checked.

Is there a list of known bugs posted somewhere?
Bugs are currently scattered around several places.  I would like to have all bugs formally reported as an issue on the github repository here.  If you have a bug to report, please do a little research to see if it has already been reported, and if not then open an issue on github.  Please include as much information about your device and settings as you can, which ROM and version you experience the bug with, and a link to a save-state file demonstrating the bug (if possible)

Why does picking a ROM crash the app back to the menu or home?
There are many causes for this behavior, so there isn't a single answer.  In a nutshell, it means the emulator had some sort of serious problem trying to either open or emulate the ROM, and had to shut down.  Your best bet is to enable crash reporting in Settings->Advanced, enter your paulscode.com username, perform whatever action causes the crash, and then POST A THREAD HERE ON THE FORUM so I can follow-up.  Random crash reports without context are not very useful, and just clutter the reporting system.  When you are finished testing, please disable crash reporting.

How do I map controller buttons?
Navigate to Settings->Input->Controller, press a button on the screen, then press the control you want to map it to.  The same procedure works for Player's 2 - 4 as well.

How do I add buttons or move them around on the touchscreen (or Xperia Play touchpad)?
A tutorial on customizing the touch layouts can be found in this thread.  I will eventually write a Skin Maker app for creating custom layouts, but for now they must be created manually.  If you are not technically minded or artistic enough to create your own, other folks have posted links to custom layouts they've created, and they can be shared and used by anyone!  A list of custom layouts will be maintained in this thread.  To use a custom layout, first unzip the file onto your device somewhere.  There is an option to use a new layout under Input->Touchscreen->Custom layout folder.  Click that and navigate to the folder containing the custom layout.  If the option is grey, choose "Custom" under "Touchscreen layout" to enable it.  Note: the custom layout ZIP file must be unzipped onto your device before you can use it.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 12:50:37 PM by Paul »
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline BHTGO

  • bit
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2013, 08:42:09 AM »
En Français :

Où puis-je télécharger l’application ou le code source ?
Paul met à jour les liens vers les dernières versions de l’application dans ce sujet (en anglais).
Le code source est quant à lui disponible sur le dépôt github [nofollow]. Le code source prédatant la création du dépôt est également disponible sous forme d’archive sur demande à Paul pour quiconque souhaite s’en servir à des fins de comparaison ou autre.


Pourquoi n’y a-t-il aucun jeu ?
Mupen64Plus AE est un émulateur. L’équipe derrière sa conception n’est en aucun cas affilié ou associé à Nintendo. Comme tout émulateur, Mupen64Plus AE est livré démuni de jeux (appelés ROMs). Une ROM est une sauvegarde (backup) numérique d’un jeu sur cartouche. Vous devez posseder le jeu original sur cartouche pour pouvoir légalement utiliser une ROM. De ce fait et pour des raisons légales, vous devez vous procurer vos ROM vous-même. Et même s’il est facile de trouver des sites hébergeant des ROMs N64 à l’aide de Google, veuillez noter qu’il est ILLÉGAL de télécharger la ROM d’un jeu que vous ne possédez pas. Le meilleur moyen d’éviter tout problème juridique est encore de sauvegarder vos propres jeux N64 sous forme de ROM. La marche à suivre est simple et peu couteuse. Vous trouverez des instructions détaillées dans ce sujet.

Je dispose de ROMs, pourquoi n’apparaissent-elles pas ?
Lorsqu’il est exécuté pour la première fois, Mupen64Plus vérifie le dossier n64/roms sur votre carte SD. Si ce dossier n’existe pas, l’application vérifie à la racine de votre carte SD. Si vos ROMs sont stockées ailleurs, vous devez sélectionner le chemin vers leur dossier. Si vous utilisez une application tierce et ne savez pas où sont sauvegardées vos ROMs, merci de contacter l’auteur de l’application en question pour savoir où sont vos ROMs (ou bien chercher leur emplacement vous-même). La technique la plus simple est encore de transférer vos ROMs depuis votre ordinateur dans un dossier que vous pouvez contrôler.

Pourquoi l’audio est-il si instable ?
En fait il ne s’agit pas d’un problème avec l’audio, mais plutôt d’un problème de vitesse d’émulation (l’émulation n’est pas assez rapide et la lecture audio doit constamment ‘attendre’ que l’émulation rattrape son retard). Il nous a été suggéré d’ajouter un système de buffering, mais cela ne résoudrait pas le problème pour autant (cela allongerait juste le temps entre les sautes audio, ces dernières seraient plus longue, le temps que le buffer se recharge). Une correction possible à ce problème serait de changer dynamiquement la vitesse de lecture audio afin qu’elle corresponde à la vitesse d’émulation mais ce ne serait valable que dans une minorité de cas (dans la majorité des jeux, cela résulterait dans des sons plus graves ou aigus aussi ennuyeux que les sauts de la piste son). La seule vraie solution serait d’améliorer la vitesse d’émulation. Cela s’améliorera avec le temps et les optimisations de l’application. Pour une liste complète des optimisations utilisables dès maintenant pour améliorer un peu la vitesse veuillez consulter ce sujet.

Pourquoi les jeux sont-ils si lents ?
Les téléphones les plus lents (particulièrement ceux équipés de processeurs ARM6 à 600Mhz, les plus communs) éprouvent de grandes difficultés à faire tourner cette émulateur correctement à l’heure actuelle. Même sur certains appareils plus modernes, de nombreux jeux de grande qualité technique (tels que Conker’s Bad Fur Day) seront ralentis. La vitesse d’émulation va s’améliorer graduellement avec le temps et les optimisations, mais il s’agit d’un travail de longue haleine qui ne se réglera pas du jour au lendemain. Pour une liste complète des optimisations utilisables dès maintenant pour améliorer un peu la vitesse veuillez consulter ce sujet.

Pourquoi les déplacements ne répondent-ils pas sur Pokémon Stadium (et autres jeux) ?
Certains jeux utilisent la croix directionnelle. Le thème des boutons virtuels par défaut n’inclus pas la croix directionnelle.

Comment puis-je activer la croix directionnelle alors ?
Rendez-vous dans Paramètres->Contrôles->Thèmes de commandes virtuelles puis sélectionnez un thème analogique.

Comment puis-je utiliser des textures en haute résolution ?
Tout d’abord il vous faudra télécharger un pack de textures haute résolution (Hi-Res) pour votre jeu. S’il ne l’est pas déjà, veuillez le compresser au format .zip, puis le sauvegarder sur votre carte SD. Ensuite sélectionnez le plug-in vidéo gles2rice (Paramètres->Plug-ins->Vidéo->gles2rice) et importez votre pack de textures (Paramètres->Vidéo->Importer pack de textures). Veillez à ce que « Textures haute résolution » soit coché.

Existe-il une liste de bugs répertoriés ?
Les bugs répertoriés sont actuellement étalés dans plusieurs discussions. Nous aimerions rassembler tous les bugs dans le dépôt github à cette adresse [nofollow]. Si vous avez un bug à signaler, veuillez commencer par une petite recherche afin de vérifier s’il n’a pas déjà été répertorié et, si ce n’est pas le cas, ouvrir une tâche sur github. Merci d’indiquer autant de détails que possible sur votre appareil et configuration, quelle ROM et version était utilisée au moment du bug ainsi qu’un lien vers le fichier save-state montrant le bug (si possible).

Pourquoi sélectionner une ROM fait planter l’application et renvoie au menu ?
Il peut y avoir de nombreuses causes pour un plantage, il n’y a donc pas de réponse unique. Pour faire simple, cela signifie que l’émulateur a rencontré un sérieux problème en essayant d’ouvrir ou d’émuler la ROM et a du se fermer. Le meilleur moyen d’obtenir une correction ou réponse au problème est d’activer le rapport de plantages dans Paramètres ->Avancé, puis entrez votre pseudonyme de ce forum, réalisez à nouveau l’action qui a causé le plantage et POSTEZ UN SUJET SUR CE FORUM, afin que l’équipe puisse se pencher sur le problème. Les rapports de plantages sans contexte sont difficile à cerner et ne permettent pas d’être corrigés efficacement. Lorsque votre bug est corrigé, ou que le test est terminé, merci de bien vouloir désactiver le rapport de plantages.

Comment puis-je assigner les commandes ?
Entrez dans le menu Paramètres->commandes, puis appuyez sur un bouton à l’écran et sélectionnez la fonction que vous désirez assigner. La même procédure est à effectuer pour les joueurs 2 à 4.

Comment puis-je ajouter des boutons ou  déplacer les commandes virtuelles à l’écran (ou sur le pavé tactile du Xperia Play) ?
Un tutoriel sur la personnalisation des thèmes de commandes virtuelles peut être trouvé dans ce sujet. Nous envisageons la création d’une application de création de thèmes de commandes virtuelles, mais pour l’instant ils doivent être créés manuellement. Si vous n’êtes pas à l’aise techniquement ou que vous ne vous sentez pas suffisamment l’âme d’un artiste pour créer la vôtre, d'autres utilisateurs partagent leurs thèmes personnalisés, la liste des thèmes disponibles est mise à jour dans ce sujet. Pour utiliser un thème personnalisé, il est d'abord nécessaire de le dézipper sur sa carte SD. L'option pour utiliser un thème personnalisé est disponible dans Contrôles->Commandes virtuelles->Dossier de thème personnalisé. Cliquez sur cette dernière option puis sélectionnez le dossier contenant les thèmes personnalisés. Si l'option est grisée, choisissez 'Personnalisé' en dessous de 'Thème de commandes virtuelles' pour l'activer. Note : le thème perso doit être dézippé sur votre appareil pour être utilisable.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 10:14:02 AM by BHTGO »

Offline ssssbbbb

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2013, 11:26:38 AM »
How do I use debug mode on super Mario 64?

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3462
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2013, 11:50:50 AM »
How do I use debug mode on super Mario 64?
Sorry I do not understand the question.  Is "debug mode" a game cheat, or are you trying to debug a problem?
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline ssssbbbb

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2013, 12:24:34 PM »
What I'm trying to say is when I use the debug mode cheat on super Mario 64 it does not tell me how to use it can you tell me how please

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3462
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2013, 12:32:01 PM »
Oh, right.  I think that is one of the cheats that you activate with the Gameshark button.  I haven't implemented that, but will in an update very soon.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline ssssbbbb

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2013, 08:01:01 PM »
How do I use gameshark?

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3462
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2013, 08:12:27 PM »
It's not possible yet.  I'm adding this in an update in the near future.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline andrewiiee

  • bit
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2013, 09:51:13 PM »
I try to play Mario Party on my  Nexus and during the interactive player screen on the game board is off to the side and not centered on the screen

Offline geraldevans12

  • bit
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2013, 01:34:32 PM »
IO Error keeps popping up when i try to play a ROM....

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3462
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2013, 06:58:15 PM »
IO Error keeps popping up when i try to play a ROM....

Begin by unplugging the USB cable if it is plugged in

With the cable disconnected, do the following steps:

1) Reboot your phone
2) Launch the app and select Settings->Advanced->Reload app resources
3) Select Settings->Reset
4) Launch Mario64 and see if it still has the problem

Finally, (if desired) connect the USB cable and launch Mario64 again to see if the problem reappears

Let me know where it fails in the process.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline xperia64

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2013, 07:42:36 PM »
Make sure its unzipped.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3462
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2013, 07:51:04 PM »
Good point..  Another cause for an IO error is if your storage space is running low, and there isn't enough room to unpack the ROM when you launch it.  Unzipping it will solve that problem.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Ajinferno

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2013, 02:00:30 PM »
Hey paul. I don't know if i'm alone on this one, but when I play super smash bros., most of the characters' eyes aren't there, or lower than they're supposed to be (on their chins). I thought i might have just downloaded a bad file, so i downloaded another ssb rom from a different site, and nothing changed. The game is really great, it just kinda bothers me that they're missing eyes.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3462
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2013, 02:07:13 PM »
smash bros ... missing eyes

That's a bug specific to gles2n64.  Switch the video plug-in to gles2rice (plugins section) and enable Auto Frameskip (video settings).  If you have frozen video problems, disable Auto Frameskip (will be slower though).
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted