Author Topic: Porting Yabause to Android  (Read 393296 times)

Offline MattyGlen

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #195 on: May 09, 2012, 08:00:05 PM »

What was the major change in r2893?

also, is it difficult to implement the Saturn's 4MB RAM cartridge? I don't believe it's in the official 0.9.11 either. Unless i overlooked it.
Device: Xperia Play R800i
Resolution: 480 x 854
CPU: 1.8GHz (OC) Qualcomm Snapdragon MSM8x55 chipset
GPU: Adreno 205 245 MHz
RAM: 512 MB
Rom: Verizon 4.0.2.A.0.62 Gingerbread 2.3.4 rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #196 on: May 09, 2012, 08:33:07 PM »
Ok, got sound working by going with r2892.  However, it is insanely slow.  Hard to imagine that audio should have such a profound effect on performance (I'm getting less than 1 FPS on my Galaxy Nexus when it is enabled!)  Disabling it and rebuilding, and it runs fast again.  I'll talk with Guillaume to see if he has any thoughts on how it might be improved.

I'll post it anyway, if anyone's interested in trying it out:

Alpha Test APK  (source code09 May 2012 (Yabause core: r2892)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline MattyGlen

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #197 on: May 09, 2012, 09:24:32 PM »


 :) Well this build did answer a few questions i had.

Including:
I've tested a bunch of games which appear to stall after their intros, this build has pretty much confirmed that the games are still running but not displaying correctly (eg. sounds heard whilst interacting with menu)

Device: Xperia Play R800i
Resolution: 480 x 854
CPU: 1.8GHz (OC) Qualcomm Snapdragon MSM8x55 chipset
GPU: Adreno 205 245 MHz
RAM: 512 MB
Rom: Verizon 4.0.2.A.0.62 Gingerbread 2.3.4 rooted

Offline devinator12

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #198 on: May 09, 2012, 09:58:08 PM »
hayo!

Adding another 5 cents of mine.

Using my new Nvidia Tegra 3 and my Xperia play has basically no difference in performance (thee usual 0-1 fps crap) trying to play Die Hard Arcade(U).

but hey... there is sound now (mind ya at the cost of shooting ourselves in the foot!)

good job! keep up the good work!

Offline trev186

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #199 on: May 09, 2012, 10:06:49 PM »
hayo!

Adding another 5 cents of mine.

Using my new Nvidia Tegra 3 and my Xperia play has basically no difference in performance (thee usual 0-1 fps crap) trying to play Die Hard Arcade(U).

but hey... there is sound now (mind ya at the cost of shooting ourselves in the foot!)

good job! keep up the good work!

Are sure the dynarec is working ? The fps increase after dynarec and open gles only seemed to effect the bios boot. In game fps barely changed at all.



Offline devinator12

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #200 on: May 09, 2012, 10:31:11 PM »
sorry but unfortunately that's the results i got for ya. between the last build and this alpha one the other one ran better as Paul put out. i tried going into game but i got bored waiting for the damn credits at the start. and yes i went past the bios boot.

All short: The app is slow. weather it be the Xperia play or the Tegra 3 (Fresh instal).

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #201 on: May 10, 2012, 03:54:14 AM »
Yes, the dynarec is working.  I tried just commenting out the two lines of code that enable audio, and it runs perfectly well.  I'm hoping there is some way to optimize this.  Audio shouldn't have this big of an effect on performance.  In Mupen64Plus AE for example, disabling the audio has minimal to no effect on performance for most devices.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline devinator12

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #202 on: May 10, 2012, 07:40:13 PM »
I'm not sure if this will help out with anything but i figured id say it.

While I took part in the Diablo 3 beta i got an unusual amount of lag. later in testing i found out that my system could not handle over 64 audio channels ( go figure 128 channels didn't work) anyhow it was the main cause why my system has having a horrible spell trip.

you figure this may be one of the causes?

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #203 on: May 10, 2012, 07:44:25 PM »
Could be, I haven't looked at the code that closely.  Considering that enabling/ disabling the audio in Mupen64Plus AE has virtually no effect on performance on my phones, I'm sure audio can be done more efficiently.  We just have to figure out what part(s) of the code are causing the slowdown and write them differently.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline terrylung

  • bit
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #204 on: May 11, 2012, 08:47:56 PM »
Hello~

I just found this emu, it works great!
But i want to ask that i cannot save the game progress.
Could you please tell me how to do it?

Sorry for my poor English

Device: HTC one X
CPU: 4x1.5G Tegra processor

Offline trev186

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #205 on: May 11, 2012, 09:02:41 PM »
Hello~
I just found this emu, it works great!
But i want to ask that i cannot save the game progress.
Could you please tell me how to do it?

Sorry for my poor English

Device: HTC one X
CPU: 4x1.5G Tegra processor

What kinda fps u get on ur phone ?

We are all getting like 1 FPS with sound so I don't think anyone was serious about save states...

Offline devinator12

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #206 on: May 11, 2012, 10:05:45 PM »
yeah i want to hear whats up. i keep looking at the audio plugin and I'm confused as hell. all i see is 16 bit and convert 32 to 16 and stuff like that ( not gonna pretend i know a whole lot)

and then i see this...
Code: [Select]
   int sampleRateInHz = 44100;
   int channelConfig = 12; //AudioFormat.CHANNEL_OUT_STEREO
   int audioFormat = 2; //AudioFormat.ENCODING_PCM_16BIT

Quote
Audio generation was provided via a specialized multifunction sound chip developed by Yamaha, the YMF292, also known as the Saturn Custom Sound Processor or SCSP. The SCSP included 32 sound channels with both FM and PCM (up to 44.1 kHz sampling rate) functionality and fully configurable channel linking for modulation purposes, a 128-step DSP, and internal DAC. The SCSP was used in conjunction with the Saturn's Motorola 68EC000 co-processor and dedicated audio RAM, and MIDI compliance allowed use of an external MIDI controller, such as a keyboard.

pulled that off the wiki page.
hope this helps.

Offline trev186

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #207 on: May 12, 2012, 12:26:04 AM »
Hi Paul,

Robert Brogila aka Explusalpha has an unreleased app based on the Yabause source as well.

Here is an excerpt from his Twitter:

Robert Broglia
‏ @rakashazi
 Follow
@trev186 Did some more work on it recently with the updated code, Dynarec works on ARMv6 cpus but it can be a bit buggy

He seems to imply that for Arm v6 CPUs the dynarec works but not for others.


Offline terrylung

  • bit
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #208 on: May 12, 2012, 01:04:18 AM »
Hello~
I just found this emu, it works great!
But i want to ask that i cannot save the game progress.
Could you please tell me how to do it?

Sorry for my poor English

Device: HTC one X
CPU: 4x1.5G Tegra processor

What kinda fps u get on ur phone ?

We are all getting like 1 FPS with sound so I don't think anyone was serious about save states...

hello

I tried for both version of alpha test, same for you guys i have ~1 fps on version with sound
but version without sound can have ~15 fps, which is enough for the gameplay.
But I cannot save the game progress makes me cannot continue

Offline EXL

  • bit
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #209 on: May 18, 2012, 10:34:10 AM »
Hi there! Thank you for the excellent emulator port!

Model: Motorola Droid 2 (analog droid x)
Platform: TI OMAP 3630-1000
GPU: PowerVR SGX 530
CPU: ARMv7, 1GHz
Memory: 512 Mb
Android 2.3.4, no root, latest update (.621)

Yabause ver. 03MAR2012r2871: (from the first post, using dynarec, GLES rendering)
When I try to run any rom - the application crashed. But Yabause icon in the status bar remains.
Log: newbielink:http://pastebin.com/nr3Ux6MR [nonactive]

Yabause ver. 07MAR2012r2849:
- works.

I hope you will help you to fix the problem.