Author Topic: Porting Yabause to Android  (Read 435344 times)

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #120 on: March 09, 2012, 01:32:48 PM »
The next step (after adding audio linkage, just because that will be easier) will be porting the GL rendering pipeline to GLES.  I'll look to see which version will be easier, but I suspect GLES1 will be the way to go (GLES2 might be faster, so I'll probably eventually port two different render pipelines, which would sort of be like having two video plug-ins.. a good idea from a game/ device compatibility perspective, I think, but it will take some time).
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline xperiagamer.com

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • XperiaGamer
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #121 on: March 09, 2012, 01:45:30 PM »
Nice work Paul.

We have been testing a bit ourselfs. Albert Odyseey works perfect played for about 20mins without crashes and no graphic issues, except the speed not great (average FPS 4 in game) but to be expected great job. ;D 

Nice to see someone working on something new :)
Our Android Robots!!!!
All top end Xperia 2011 devices
All top end Xperia 2012 devices out
Sony Tablet S 
Asus Transformer TF101 because we have one

Offline Epic_bubble

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #122 on: March 09, 2012, 01:47:41 PM »
Awesome progress on the emulator, Its vastly improved since I first used it. :)

I tested sonic R but the game looked like this
Device: Xperia play
CPU: Qualcomm 1 GHz Scorpion (Snapdragon)
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Screen res: 854 ? 480
ROM: stock android 2.3.4 rooted

Offline xperiagamer.com

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • XperiaGamer
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #123 on: March 09, 2012, 02:02:24 PM »
I tested sonic R but the game looked like this

We had this issue with our copy of Night's E.U (cue + bin) but it seams to run in the background. You can sort of tell the game is moving to different screens when selected also tried it with different bio regions.
Our Android Robots!!!!
All top end Xperia 2011 devices
All top end Xperia 2012 devices out
Sony Tablet S 
Asus Transformer TF101 because we have one

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #124 on: March 09, 2012, 02:36:18 PM »
That's a problem with frame width and/or stride.  The simple renderer assumes a specific source frame width and contiguous pixel data, which may not always be the case.  I expect a lot of problems like these will be fixed with a proper renderer (besides running faster)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline DarkRaziel64

  • bit
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #125 on: March 10, 2012, 02:47:57 PM »
i tested Akumajo Dracula X - Gekka no Yasoukyoku [NTSC-J] (converted by Saturn Region Patcher v3.0) on my xperia play its crash when konami logo booting
it say "MASTER SH2 INVALID OPCODE" and codes ?@#$/23$?%#@?%#% bla bla bla  :o

but i have many questions paul
why FPS 3 or 1 its very slow  >:(
why it has no sounds and musics  :-[


all i can say thank you very much paul keep it up  ;D

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #126 on: March 10, 2012, 03:23:48 PM »
The emulator is slow because it is using a software rendering pipeline, and then sending each frame through JNI to be drawn with the ridiculously slow Android API.  I expect it will run most games at a playable speed once I've ported the OpenGL render to GLES.  I'll be tackling this after I add the audio linkage, but this will not be an easy project (it will take some time to get it running properly)

There is no sound, because Android doesn't ship with SDL or OpenAL, which are the two audio pipelines written into Yabause.  I have written an Android port of OpenAL (called ALAN) which I may use, or I could port the SDL pipeline to SDL 1.3 and use the official Android port of SDL, or (preferably) I could write a new audio pipeline for SLES, which would be fastest.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline OnijJoku

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #127 on: March 10, 2012, 05:57:42 PM »
So far I tried Burning Rangers and Doom. Burning Rangers and Doom was responding. I can't wait for the next update, I would love to fully test both Doom and Burning Rangers. Thanks Paul!
Device: T-Mobile MyTouch 4G
Resolution: 480 x 800
Chipset: Qualcomm MSM8255 Snapdragon
CPU: 1 GHz Scorpion
GPU: Adreno 205 245 MHz
RAM: 768 MB RAM

Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Resolution: 1080 x 1920
Chipset: Qualcomm Snapdragon 800
CPU: Quad-core 2.3 GHz Krait 400
GPU: Adreno 330
RAM: 3 GB RAM

Offline MaXiMu

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #128 on: March 11, 2012, 07:16:14 AM »

Wow nice changes I Maped buttons perfect

Albert Odyssey Running 2-3 fps for me but playable  ** Some Glitches in sometimes  sprites in the loading stage  No saves work.


Offline Oniros

  • bit
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #129 on: March 12, 2012, 09:08:39 PM »
i tested Akumajo Dracula X - Gekka no Yasoukyoku [NTSC-J] (converted by Saturn Region Patcher v3.0) on my xperia play its crash when konami logo booting
it say "MASTER SH2 INVALID OPCODE" and codes ?@#$/23$?%#@?%#% bla bla bla  :o

but i have many questions paul
why FPS 3 or 1 its very slow  >:(
why it has no sounds and musics  :-[


all i can say thank you very much paul keep it up  ;D
I was going to test Symphony of the Night as well. Thanks for reporting your findings here before I started posting redundant observations. If you can also make and entry on the spreadsheet!

Again Paul, thanks for all of this. Keep up the great work!

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #130 on: March 12, 2012, 09:36:39 PM »
That's a problem with frame width and/or stride.  The simple renderer assumes a specific source frame width and contiguous pixel data, which may not always be the case.  I expect a lot of problems like these will be fixed with a proper renderer (besides running faster)

I posted another update that should fix this problem (assuming I am correct about the cause).  This build will almost certainly run much slower.  It is really just intended to see how many of the reported graphics glitches are being caused by frame width/ stride problems.  It should give me a pretty good idea how many graphics issues will still need to be worked out after completing the GLES renderer.

Pre-Alpha Test  (source code12 March 2012 (Yabause core: r2849)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline trev186

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #131 on: March 12, 2012, 10:17:09 PM »
Hi

So with the most recent update compatibility has not really changed but things look and run much better.

Just thought I would mention that in addtion to Albert's Odyssey running so well in game Dragon force also does.

In fact since dragon force is a very unique strategy rpg you can almost play the game fully sound would be nice but I was able to play dragon force for like 45 mins straight.

I am looking forward to seeing how things run in the GLES rendered version :)

Thank you again Paul

Offline OnijJoku

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #132 on: March 12, 2012, 11:33:12 PM »
Paul you are the MAN!! Its much more easier to test these games. Right now I'm testing burning rangers and after you choose your character and the begins, it flashes.
Device: T-Mobile MyTouch 4G
Resolution: 480 x 800
Chipset: Qualcomm MSM8255 Snapdragon
CPU: 1 GHz Scorpion
GPU: Adreno 205 245 MHz
RAM: 768 MB RAM

Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Resolution: 1080 x 1920
Chipset: Qualcomm Snapdragon 800
CPU: Quad-core 2.3 GHz Krait 400
GPU: Adreno 330
RAM: 3 GB RAM

Offline amdradeon

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #133 on: March 13, 2012, 01:48:55 AM »
This fixed my problem with nights!. There are still a few glitches like the sky is black. But it would be pretty play able with a few more fps's

Offline snk4ever

  • bit
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Porting Yabause to Android
« Reply #134 on: March 13, 2012, 04:58:48 AM »
I love the Saturn and registered just to let you know I'm very excited to see someone working on getting it emulated on Android. Thank you for the projects you do !