Author Topic: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?  (Read 7667 times)

Offline essential

  • bit
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« on: June 17, 2015, 10:00:28 PM »
Forgive my ignorance but I'm relatively new to this world, I've used emulators in the past but only only PC, never on Android, and the PC side allow specific button mapping.

Anyway, I bought an Nvidia Shield TV and I side loaded Mupen64Plus.  I plug my DS4 in via USB and the button mapping is almost perfect at default except the Z button doesn't work.  On the Input --> Controller when I click buttons it shows me how they are mapped but it doesn't seem to allow me to customize anything, I see the Z on top but no DS4 button lights it up and no way to config it to use it (that I can tell).  Ideally L is L1, R is R1, and Z is either L2 or R2 (or both).  From what I've read the Z button is the top left for touch screen devices replacing L but when playing on a TV I need to figure out how to map that button (or to custom map buttons in general).

Is there a version of the apk that is more geared toward being sideloaded on TV android devices?

Once in Mario Kart 64, the game plays great, everything is smooth except you can't fire your weapon.  Only other issue is when I'm in the "Input --> Controller" screen every button I hit shows me how it maps or or does nothing, and you are stuck on that screen, no button allows me to go back a screen, I need to use my media remote to go back a screen.

I'd rather not install the Sixaxis app as it requires root and my DS4 is functioning great as is except Z.

Any advice would be appreciated, even if it's pushing a manual control config to the Shield somehow.  Next step is hooking up a USB hub and seeing it I can get 4 controllers to work.

I'm also down to do any beta testing if you are planning a TV version release of the app.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 10:03:29 PM by essential »

Offline littleguy

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2015, 10:12:54 PM »
Yes, there's a solution but it's not obvious.  Making things automatic is in the plan, especially given the number of "leanback" devices are now on the market.

Since you said you sideloaded, I assume you are using Alpha 20, correct?
http://www.paulscode.com/forum/index.php?topic=1818.0

If so, then go to the global settings, scroll down to the bottom and change Accessibility to "Big-screen mode".

If you post back a bit of information, we can update the app so that this is automatic in the future for anyone with this device.  From the main navigation drawer of the app, select About -> Hardware info.  Then press the "Share" button in the popup window to copy the text, and post it back on this thread.
2012 Nexus 7, rooted stock Lollipop
Samsung Galaxy Victory, rooted stock Jelly Bean
Xperia PLAY, stock Gingerbread
OUYA, retail version

Offline essential

  • bit
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2015, 10:37:21 PM »
I did not use Alpha, I just used the version from the google play store (2.4.4?).  I found this site after experiencing the Z issue.  I'll replace the apk tomorrow and try again, then post the results.

Thanks.

Offline essential

  • bit
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2015, 10:48:06 PM »
I was trying this now ... is there a compiled apk of Alpha 20 anywhere already or are the "Build Instructions" required each time?  Never compiled an APK, just sideloaded ones.

Offline littleguy

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2015, 11:17:48 PM »
Click on Alpha 21.  That's the apk. No need to build.
2012 Nexus 7, rooted stock Lollipop
Samsung Galaxy Victory, rooted stock Jelly Bean
Xperia PLAY, stock Gingerbread
OUYA, retail version

Offline essential

  • bit
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2015, 08:08:13 PM »
Hardware Info:

Device: flirc.tv flirc
Type: Default
Signature: 32
Hash: 1631
  AXIS_GENERIC_: Trigger

Device: Sony Computer Entertainment Wireless Controller
Type: Default
Signature: 0,1,11,14,15,16,22,23
Hash: 1245841466
  AXIS_X: Stick
  AXIS_Y: Stick
  AXIS_Z: Stick
  AXIS_BRAKE: Trigger
  AXIS_GAS: Trigger
  AXIS_RZ: Stick
  AXIS_HAT_X: Stick
  AXIS_HAT_Y: Stick

Device: NVidia Virtual Mouse
Id: -3
Descriptor: d6e8e58dd6e9a1f15dbf8163763911b0edabba60
Class: BUTTON, POINTER
Axes: 3
  AXIS_Y (mouse): (0.0, 1919.0)
  AXIS_Y (mouse): (0.0, 1079.0)
  AXIS_PRESSURE (mouse): (0.0, 1.0)

Device: Virtual
Id: -1
Descriptor: a718a782d34bc767f4689c232d64d527998ea7fd
Class: BUTTON

Device: flirc.tv flirc
Id: 1
Descriptor: 4722a133ce7dc7436b108fac6d8526f9bbfe5794
Class: BUTTON, JOYSTICK
Axes: 1
  AXIS_GENERIC_1 (joystick): (0.0, 1.0)

Device: gpio_ir_recv
Id: 2
Descriptor: 485d69228e24f5e46da1598745890b214130dbc4
Class: BUTTON

Device: gpio-keys
Id: 3
Descriptor: d2c52ff0f656fac4cd7b7a118d575e0109a9fe1c
Class: BUTTON

Device: Sony Computer Entertainment Wireless Controller
Id: 5
Descriptor: 891acbae66e528f9cd8c4332e653e98361ed7adb
Class: BUTTON, JOYSTICK
Axes: 8
  AXIS_X (joystick): (-1.0, 1.0)
  AXIS_Y (joystick): (-1.0, 1.0)
  AXIS_Z (joystick): (-1.0, 1.0)
  AXIS_BRAKE (joystick): (0.0, 1.0)
  AXIS_GAS (joystick): (0.0, 1.0)
  AXIS_RZ (joystick): (-1.0, 1.0)
  AXIS_HAT_X (joystick): (-1.0, 1.0)
  AXIS_HAT_Y (joystick): (-1.0, 1.0)

Processor : Cortex A57 Processor rev 1 (aarch64)
processor : 0
processor : 1
processor : 2
processor : 3
Features : fp asimd aes pmull sha1 sha2 crc32
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture : AArch64
CPU variant : 0x1
CPU part : 0xd07
CPU revision : 1

Hardware: foster_e
Revision : 0000
Serial : XXXX

Board: unknown
Brand: NVIDIA
Device: foster
Display: LMY47D.32494_558.0439
Host: mobile-u64-755
ID: LMY47D
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Model: SHIELD Android TV
Product: foster_e

Offline essential

  • bit
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2015, 08:12:08 PM »
Alpha is better than the 2.4.4 from the play store, Z now works as L2 with the PS3 profile.

However, I can't seem to figure out how to customize the PS3 profile, so I tried to create a new profile.  That's where it kind of dead ends without the touchscreen.  As I push buttons on the DS4 the screen is giving me read-outs as to what I'm pushing but I have no way to assign anything.  Ideally with PS3/PS4 controller Z is L2 and/or R2 and L1 is L1, R1 is R1.  Currently, R1 is R1, L1 is not functional, and L2 is Z.

It's usable for sure.  I'm going to have to grab an Android tablet to see how this is supposed to work because maybe there is a trick to creating a controller profile I'm missing but it just might be a lack of touch screen limitation.

Offline retroben

  • float
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2015, 08:22:10 PM »
Maybe connecting a mouse via an OTG cable will help since you can click on various things as if you are touching a screen.

Offline essential

  • bit
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2015, 08:48:22 PM »
Good idea, will try that.

Offline essential

  • bit
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2015, 09:58:54 PM »
Using a mouse worked, was able to fully configure the remote in a custom profile.  Only issue now is no way to get out of the game back to the Mupen64Plus screen, also need the mouse to do that, it's not possible from the controller.

Offline fzurita

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
Re: DS4 on Shield TV ... Button Config?
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2015, 09:05:41 PM »
If you map the back button to a key and use the TV mode of the app, the back button will get you out of the game.