Author Topic: help with wiimote  (Read 10269 times)

Offline orphan

  • bit
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
help with wiimote
« on: April 27, 2012, 02:17:11 AM »
Hello,

So I just grabbed this app. The games I've tried appear to run smoothly from the limited experience I've had. The problem is I can't get my wiimote to work properly. I'm trying to use the classic controller, but nothing works besides the left analog stick which I have bound to the n64 analog stick. I've mapped all the keys appropriately but nothing works... The registered buttons don't change or anything like that. The controller works fine in other emulators so I'm not sure what's going on here. I'm playing on a Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 running Honeycomb.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2012, 03:25:09 AM »
How are you connecting the controller (Wiimote Controller, Bluez IME, etc?)  Also, what happens in the key mapping process exactly (dialog popup stays open, dialog closes and keycode shows "not mapped", or dialog closes and a keycode shows up?)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline orphan

  • bit
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2012, 09:25:08 PM »
I'm using WiimoteController. The key maps register, the dialogue box opens, I press the key, and it closes with "keycode 'number'" registered to the action. 'Number' being an actual two digit number.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2012, 10:26:48 PM »
This sounds like the same problem hortino had before.  Could you try a "Restore App Data" to see if that fixes the problem?  That should be equivalent to uninstalling and reinstalling the app, which is what fixed hortino's problem.  Let me know if that helps or not.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline orphan

  • bit
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2012, 02:07:29 AM »
No change. Thanks for the replies though.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2012, 03:03:49 AM »
Hmm..  Ok, next I'll write you a test to run.  I'll post it later today (just tracking down a different bug at the moment)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline paed808

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2012, 11:55:50 AM »
Having the same problem. In 1.8.2 there was no problem with the classic controller. In 1.99.5 only the left analog stick works and the d-pad is handling the start button for some reason. Wiimote controller IME
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2012, 12:04:39 PM »
Weird, so same thing where the buttons map ok in the Input settings, but don't operate correctly in-game?
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline paed808

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2012, 12:05:57 PM »
Weird, so same thing where the buttons map ok in the Input settings, but don't operate correctly in-game?
Yes.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2012, 12:16:04 PM »
It's got to be something with the config files, I'm thinking.  I'll try Wiimote controller IME to see if I can reproduce the problem (I have a wiimote classic controller around somewhere)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2012, 12:19:38 PM »
Could you post the logcat, btw, after starting up a game?  I should check if maybe it is trying to use AutoInputCfg.ini instead of mupen64plus.cfg for some reason.  Also, could you check the folders to see if mupen64plus.cfg is maybe in two places?  It should only be in Android/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus, and not in Android/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus/data.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline paed808

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2012, 12:33:31 PM »
The cfg file is only in Android/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus
Here's the logcat http://db.tt/w5Xd9IOx

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2012, 01:01:48 PM »
Oh, thanks I think I see the problem (doesn't have the version in some sections, so it's using defaults).  I thought I had fixed that, but must have not included it in the APK.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2012, 05:15:29 PM »
Hmm.. it looks like the version is in there correctly.  I wonder if maybe it is looking in the wrong folder for the config file..  does your device have more than one storage area mounted (such as mnt/sdcard and mnt/sdcard2 or something)?  This could be a logic bug in my code, since my phone only has one storage area, mounted at /mnt/sdcard.  The only other thing I can think of that would cause the version to get stripped away is running an old version of the emulator (like 1.4 or something) or possibly N64 4 Droid, but I doubt that is what's going on in your case (either way, I'll add a checker into the code in case it happens to someone else).
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: help with wiimote
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2012, 06:56:47 PM »
I fixed a couple config-related things in RC 10 (probably not related to your problem though).  I added some debug messages in to hopefully help me narrow the problem down, though.

Please uninstall the app completely, and make sure the folder Android/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus is gone (if you have more than one storage area, such as /mnt/sdcard and /mnt/sdcard2, please check both).

Then install and post the logcat after starting a game:

Signed APK, RC 10
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted