Author Topic: [HowTo] Setup Windows to build Mupen64Plus-AE - from scratch  (Read 10283 times)

Offline littleguy

• double
    • View Profile
[HowTo] Setup Windows to build Mupen64Plus-AE - from scratch
« on: September 26, 2012, 06:57:32 PM »
Ok, as a total Android noob I took a few wrong turns getting the source to build on Windows.  Hope some people find this helpful.  Keep in mind these instructions were made on 9/26/2012 and may get out of date eventually.

• Download and install the Android SDK.
  • After installation, run (install location)\SDK Manager.exe as administrator and install platform-tools, usb driver, etc. just as described on Android dev website.
  • Run (install location)\AVD Manager.exe if you want to set up any device emulators, again following Android website.
  • Download the Android NDK and unzip it to a path with no spaces in the name (I used C:\android-ndk-r8b\).  Don't worry about GNU make or any of the other stuff the Android website discusses; we'll take care of all that next.
  • Download and install Cygwin.  Just leave the default settings for all the install prompts (next, next, next, ..., finish) and don't worry about installing extra packages.  Be sure it installs to a path with no spaces in the name (I used C:\cygwin\).
  • In Windows 7, open Control Panel->System and Security->System and click on Advanced system settings on the left column.  If you're using another Windows version, try to find the location where path variables are defined.
  • In the window that pops up, click the Advanced tab, then the Environment Variables... button at the bottom.
  • Go to System variables, select "Path", click the Edit... button, then append "C:\cygwin;C:\cygwin\bin;" (without quotes) to the string. Then press OK, OK.
  • Install Eclipse by unzipping it somewhere, e.g. C:\Program Files (x86)\.  I couldn't get the 64-bit version to run on my Win7-64 machine, but the 32-bit version was fine.