Author Topic: Help With gles2rice Plugin  (Read 5455 times)

Offline CatalystG

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Help With gles2rice Plugin
« on: November 25, 2012, 08:50:37 PM »
In the past I ported Kris' TouchPad Mupen64 emulator to the BlackBerry PlayBook. I'm now looking to port it to BlackBerry 10 phones for when they launch. On both of my ports, I've had issues where in Zelda: OoT with gles2rice where after I press start, then try and save or return back, the screen freezes. Music keeps playing, I can save/load states still but everything stops rendering. This does not happen on gles2n64, however it has pretty bad texture issues.

I'm just curious if this menu issue happens with you too? I'm sure my plugins are out of date, so before I start the process of updating everything I'd like to know if this happens with you. I've looked at the diffs of rice from my version to yours and I don't see anything too major that would cause this (few changes in TextureManager, and a number of RSP ucode updates mostly). I'm guessing it may be a core or rsp-hle issue but that will require a fair amount of time to update I'm guessing which I haven't got around to yet.

Thanks for the help.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2012, 06:37:12 AM »
For some reason that behavior sounds a little familiar, but I don't remember it being related to rice.  I'll see if I can get in touch with Kris later to see if he remembers anything like this.  Not sure if you are using frame skip, but if so you might try disabling that in the config file.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline CatalystG

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2012, 08:38:58 AM »
You aren't having this issue with the current state of your emulator though are you? Frameskip is off on rice. If it isn't an issue for you, then it'll just be a matter of updating plugins and double checking exactly what I had changed. I removed SDL completely except for the audio plugin so I may have done something in the process.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2012, 01:01:34 PM »
No, not having the problem now.  BTW, I'd love to see your source when you get things going.  Do you have it posted somewhere?  Good luck on your project.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline CatalystG

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2012, 01:14:29 PM »
I have the PlayBook port of PCSX and Mupen64Plus at Github.com/CatalystG. I haven't posted any of my changes for the phones yet though so far it's nothing major.

My modifications in github are fairly hacky at the moment as I learned the source and was focused on getting it working. Part of my changes now will be to clean it up and get more in line with the official Mupen repo and yours. As well as add a UI beyond simple dialogs.

I'm still undecided as to whether I want to keep SDL or not. I was sort of forced to not use it as the SDL port for BlackBerry didn't have GLES2 support. Now I'm deciding if I want to fix SDL and re-add it or completely remove it.

Why are you planning to remove it? Performance?

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2012, 05:15:15 PM »
Yes, performance is the reason I'm removing SDL.  I'm hoping it will have a nice improvement, but even if it doesn't help much, every little bit counts.  It will be interesting to see if N64oid's superior performance is related at all to it not using SDL, or if it just has a much faster port of Rice.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Kris

  • Developer
  • int
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2012, 05:46:25 PM »
There's a chance this bug might be related to the Zelda Subscreen fix. There is a long delay when showing the menu in emulators but there is a cheat code to fix it. In my port I check for the zelda rom and then apply the cheat. I haven't seen the bug myself but when I checked a while ago I used a save state which already had the cheat applied.

I would check the cheat database contains the fix and perhaps try a different rom or disabling the fix and see if it still occurs in a new game.

Offline CatalystG

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2012, 07:43:49 PM »
I have tried it with and without the subscreen fix. It definitely does solve the issue where it takes 5+ seconds to load, but I get stuck leaving the menu every time. If it doesn't happen on the touch pad port maybe I'll take a look at the diff between mine and that. See if it's something obvious before updating the core and still running into the issue. Thanks.

Offline CatalystG

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2012, 08:18:28 AM »
I took a look at the differences and didn't find anything that would fix it. I'm a little stuck as to why it's happening only with my port. While looking, I was able to solve another issue that I had with input (renewing my hate for unbracketed if/else statements).

Since gles2n64 didn't have the same issue, I looked into fixing the flickering. I was able to get zelda looking quite good besides link's model disappearing completely inside his house or shops which also had a blocky background. Mostly through the z-hack and polygon offset fiddling. It seems those changes made other games look bad though.

Does any of that happen to you? Do you need per game settings tweaks for gles2n64? Rice seems to look great for all the games I have.

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2012, 01:33:20 PM »
Gles2n64 definitely does require per-game settings.  Currently this is not implemented in our port, but planned for a future update at some point down the road when I get more into game-specific graphics bugs and less into the more global issues we are tackling right now.  In the mean time Kris' plug-in is far superior at rendering most games.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline littleguy

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2012, 04:29:09 PM »
Should gles2rice be the default user preference for the next release?
2012 Nexus 7, rooted stock Lollipop
Samsung Galaxy Victory, rooted stock Jelly Bean
Xperia PLAY, stock Gingerbread
OUYA, retail version

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2012, 05:17:23 PM »
I don't think so because it runs slower on a lot of devices, especially if skip frame is disabled (necessary for most games)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline CatalystG

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Help With gles2rice Plugin
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2012, 10:54:22 AM »
I took a bit of time to take the core and rsp from Richard42. I was able to build and integrate it fairly easily with the other plugins. I think it did give a bit of a performance boost as I had a fairly old core. The glesrice issue with the sub screen is still there however. Any thoughts as to how to track this down? I'll probably take a took at the diffs again between mine and AE and see if I can sync up rice. I don't believe it's hw based.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2012, 11:50:07 AM by CatalystG »