Author Topic: Alpha Testing Underway!  (Read 308185 times)

Offline Epic_bubble

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #240 on: November 17, 2011, 06:58:10 PM »
Quote
Some ways to improve performance:
1) Ensure your device's OS is updated
2) Use gles2n64, not gles2rice for the video plug-in
3) Select one of the "touch" gamepad layouts instead of "analog"
4) Disable the audio plug-in
5) Reboot your device immediately before running the emulator
6) Study logcat output for unnecessary processes, and kill them
7) Overclock your device if it is rooted
8) Play around with the overclock settings to find the best balance of speed and stability

Thank You Pauls, but, overclock my device ? I bought not long ago, my device is galaxy ace(800mhz), OC is possible to do it? if so, have any idea how far without damaging?

Sorry My Bad English x-x''

Research on other forums, see what other users with the same phone as you think what is the most your should overclock.

Usually overclocking by 100 or 200 mhz doesnt hurt but it greatly varies on the device your using.
Device: Xperia play
CPU: Qualcomm 1 GHz Scorpion (Snapdragon)
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Screen res: 854 ? 480
ROM: stock android 2.3.4 rooted

Offline RyuuseiZero

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • StarForce
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #241 on: November 17, 2011, 07:08:05 PM »
Thank Pauls and Epic_bublle i research on other forums XD wait.

if the oc not sure e_e ''



OMG...

and sorry my bad english?
Device: Galaxy Ace GT-S5830B
CPU: 800 MHz Qualcomm MSM7227
GPU: Adreno 200
RAM: 279 MB
Screen res: 320x480
ROM: Android 2.3.4(Stock)

Offline Vincentmrl

  • Cyan Team
  • long
  • *
  • Posts: 121
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #242 on: November 18, 2011, 12:28:35 AM »
wow i just found out my optimus one is 800mhz but LG blocked it at 600mhz because of heating problems, when i want i could freely overclock my smartphone to 700mhz without caring if the device would break :D
Device: Lg Optimus One
CPU: 600 Mhz ARMv6 (Overclocked to 748Mhz ondemand governor)
GPU: Qualcomm Adreno 200
RAM: 512 MB
Resolution: 320 x 480
Rom: Unofficial Cyanogenmod 9

Offline koekje

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #243 on: November 18, 2011, 03:49:19 AM »
I dont think you bhave to worry that much about overclocking, my phone is 800mhz and i have it overclocked at 1400 and no overheating or anything.
Device: HTC Desire Z ( G2/Vision )
CPU: 1497 MHz Scorpion processor,  Qualcomm MSM 7230 chipset
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Resolution: 480 x 800
Rom: Cyanogenmod 7.1, 2.3.4 rooted

Offline scorpio16v

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #244 on: November 18, 2011, 08:26:17 AM »
Could you provide a logcat running Mupen64Plus AE with the sixaxis physically connected to your device?

yes, here. But it semms, that the emulator didn't recognized it.

http://db.tt/LVN0pXvs

As I understand my first logcat, it loads the pad as a keybord and I can only map the buttons and the left stick has the same keycodes as the D-pad.
Maybe yongzh used  the same solution as for the nubbs on iControlpad for analoginput ?

edit:
on terminal dmesg shows

Code: [Select]
6>[75165.898682] avp_lib: Successfully unloaded 'nvmm_h264dec.axf'
<6>[75165.938626] avp_lib: Successfully unloaded 'nvmm_service.axf'
<6>[75165.969590] avp_lib: Successfully unloaded 'nvmm_manager.axf'
<6>[75169.033028] Speaker Disable !
<6>[75402.038794] usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using tegra-ehci and address 9
<6>[75402.242815] usb 1-1: New USB device found, idVendor=054c, idProduct=0268
<6>[75402.243022] usb 1-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
<6>[75402.243356] usb 1-1: Product: PLAYSTATION(R)3 Controller
<6>[75402.243553] usb 1-1: Manufacturer: Sony
<6>[75402.336317] input: Sony PLAYSTATION(R)3 Controller as /devices/platform/tegra-ehci.2/usb1/1-1/1-1:1.0/input/input12
<6>[75402.337104] sony 0003:054C:0268.0008: input: USB HID v1.11 Joystick [Sony PLAYSTATION(R)3 Controller] on usb-tegra-ehci.2-1/input0
<3>[75734.835290] init: untracked pid 8377 exited
<3>[75735.069160] init: untracked pid 8394 exited
sh-3.2$

and ' cat /dev/input/js0 ' shows an reaction of all buttons and sticks, even analog output on L2/R2 shoulderbuttons

But to make something workable with my findings goes way over my mind.  :-\

ok, I've made ' chmod 777 /dev/input/js0 ' and installed gamepad IME from market and got a logcat output with anlog output. But even after setting the keyboard to 'False' in the .ini, the emulator didn't recognized the sixaxis.

http://db.tt/LbYwJ9TR

If you're interested in this IME, here is the website of the developer. You can even find the source code on this site.

http://sven.killig.de/android/GamepadIME/
« Last Edit: November 18, 2011, 12:45:08 PM by scorpio16v »

Offline xyz`1

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #245 on: November 18, 2011, 10:20:03 AM »
How do i get it to frameskip? spiderman gets laggy so i need to frameskip and how do i save? i know its alpha but please answer.. great work though n64oid force closed on me..just solve those 2 problems and i shall be indebted to you forever!

Offline xyz`1

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #246 on: November 18, 2011, 10:23:25 AM »
device-zte blade overclocked to 729 mhz 512mb ram adreno 200 gpu

Offline maloi17s

  • bit
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #247 on: November 18, 2011, 12:24:01 PM »
Hey Paul i can't disable the audio plugin on my galaxy ace.Could you help me with that?And is there any way to make on-scren interface a bit smaller?

Offline TFreestone

  • Cyan Team
  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • AtshruDev Coding Blog
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #248 on: November 18, 2011, 12:53:37 PM »
Hey Paul i can't disable the audio plugin on my galaxy ace.Could you help me with that?And is there any way to make on-scren interface a bit smaller?
hint one: read back a few pages in the forum :P however i am nice ;)
To disable plugin you can do one of two things:
wait until ui is finished
or root your device and go to the directory dada/data/paulscode.android.mupen64plus/lib and delete the sound plugin (libaudio-sdl.so)

to change the game pad you would normally hit the search key, however that key doesn't exist on the ace :( so you have to go to /sdcard/app-data/paulscode.andrd.m64+/skins/gamepads
look for the file gamepad_lists.ini and move the one you want to the top of the list. I have the same phone as you and my favorite is the 'small analogue' but paul says that the 'touch' options are faster eg. less lag (although it cant be significant)
My twitter: https://twitter.com/T0umas9
My Phone: Google Nexus 4 Paranoid Android 4.3b1 KK (4.4.2)
Chip: Qualcomm APQ8064 Snapdragon
CPU: Quad-core 1.5 GHz Krait
GPU:   Adreno 320
RAM: 2Gb
Accelerometer, gyro
768 x 1280 pixels, 4.7 inches (~318 ppi pixel density)

Offline TFreestone

  • Cyan Team
  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • AtshruDev Coding Blog
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #249 on: November 18, 2011, 01:05:05 PM »
sorry to double post but i decided i wanted to ask a question. I have the stock android 2.3.3 rom (root) and i experience minor lag on mario 64 but more on other games. I noticed that paul or someone said to make sure we had the latest rom for our device (2.3.4 for me) and i was wondering if anyone who also has the galaxy ace could tell me if they have less lag after upgrading and anything else you did to increase speed. I plan on overclocking after a custom rom is released for the galaxy ace. I think villainrom is in version 1.0 for the ace.. i'd rather wait for it to have some more bugs ironed out.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2011, 01:09:02 PM by TFreestone »
My twitter: https://twitter.com/T0umas9
My Phone: Google Nexus 4 Paranoid Android 4.3b1 KK (4.4.2)
Chip: Qualcomm APQ8064 Snapdragon
CPU: Quad-core 1.5 GHz Krait
GPU:   Adreno 320
RAM: 2Gb
Accelerometer, gyro
768 x 1280 pixels, 4.7 inches (~318 ppi pixel density)

Offline Vincentmrl

  • Cyan Team
  • long
  • *
  • Posts: 121
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #250 on: November 18, 2011, 02:07:47 PM »
I dont think you bhave to worry that much about overclocking, my phone is 800mhz and i have it overclocked at 1400 and no overheating or anything.

yes but then they made the optimus hub aka  an upgraded optimus one with a better quality processor and it's 800mhz, in fact the hub is O1's successor, when the smartphone gets old i might overclock it to 700mhz, people say it's the best option.
also your smartphone's an htc, htcs always have awesome hardware so even if you overclock to 2mhz it could still work
Device: Lg Optimus One
CPU: 600 Mhz ARMv6 (Overclocked to 748Mhz ondemand governor)
GPU: Qualcomm Adreno 200
RAM: 512 MB
Resolution: 320 x 480
Rom: Unofficial Cyanogenmod 9

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #251 on: November 18, 2011, 04:37:27 PM »
and ' cat /dev/input/js0 ' shows an reaction of all buttons and sticks, even analog output on L2/R2 shoulderbuttons
Strange.  I thought /dev/input/js0 was how SDL interfaces with the joystick in the first place.  There may be a deficiency in the Android port of SDL that is causing this (I'll ask on the support forum if anyone has experience with joysticks on Android).  Once I can verify that the Android port of SDL can actually handle joysticks, I'll start putting in debug messages to try and track down the problem.

As I understand my first logcat, it loads the pad as a keybord and I can only map the buttons and the left stick has the same keycodes as the D-pad.
Maybe yongzh used  the same solution as for the nubbs on iControlpad for analoginput ?
His solution must be completely different than the way vanilla Mupen64Plus operates, because he's project is not using SDL at all.  There are a lot of ways to "skin a cat", as they say, so I'm confident if I can't do it through SDL, there will be another way to get the input (this is Linux, after all - there is a ton of source code related to joysticks out there).

How do i get it to frameskip? spiderman gets laggy so i need to frameskip and how do i save? i know its alpha but please answer.. great work though n64oid force closed on me..just solve those 2 problems and i shall be indebted to you forever!
From what I've gathered, this function was handled differently in different versions of gles2n64.  I haven't looked that closely at this part of the code for the version I'm using to know how to configure it (it would be done through the config file).  This is one of the areas I will focus on after finishing the GUI.  I need to get my hands on the source code for a couple builds of gles2n64 from the Pandora project for comparison, and figure out which version works best for most folks.

my favorite is the 'small analogue' but paul says that the 'touch' options are faster eg. less lag (although it cant be significant)
The lag is not significant, but on lower-end devices or higher-end games every little bit counts.  I've had a couple people tell me that the lag was very noticeable to them.  I can't tell any difference on my phone, though.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2011, 04:47:22 PM by Paul »
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline xyz`1

  • bit
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #252 on: November 19, 2011, 05:30:48 AM »
Through the configuration file how? Can I do it?

Offline RyuuseiZero

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • StarForce
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #253 on: November 19, 2011, 07:20:18 AM »
@TFreestone
I have in my device the android 2.3.4, is this ?

If yes, i play mario64 good ._.'
Device: Galaxy Ace GT-S5830B
CPU: 800 MHz Qualcomm MSM7227
GPU: Adreno 200
RAM: 279 MB
Screen res: 320x480
ROM: Android 2.3.4(Stock)

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #254 on: November 19, 2011, 08:09:54 AM »
Through the configuration file how? Can I do it?
It is handled differently in different versions of the plug-in.  I haven't looked that closely at this part of the code to know how or even if it is supported in the version I'm using.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted