Author Topic: Alpha Testing Underway!  (Read 305893 times)

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #585 on: December 17, 2011, 07:18:32 PM »
Hmm, it seems to be registering that you touched a button.  Log from the game session:

Code: [Select]
V/SDLSurface( 4939): Resuming last session
V/SDL     ( 4939): SDL audio: opening device
V/SDL     ( 4939): SDL audio: wanted stereo 16-bit 44.1kHz, 2048 frames buffer
V/SDL     ( 4939): SDL audio: got stereo 16-bit 44.1kHz, 2400 frames buffer
W/AudioTrack( 4939): obtainBuffer() track 0x449298 disabled, restarting
W/AudioTrack( 4939): obtainBuffer() track 0x449298 disabled, restarting
V/front_end( 4939): Core Status: State loaded from: Mupen64PlusAE_LastSession.sav
W/AudioTrack( 4939): obtainBuffer() track 0x449298 disabled, restarting
W/AudioTrack( 4939): obtainBuffer() track 0x449298 disabled, restarting
V/TouchPad( 4939): Touch inside button boundaries
V/TouchPad( 4939): Pressed color 5926177
V/TouchPad( 4939): Closest match: button 9
V/SDLActivity( 4939): onUserLeaveHint()
V/SDLActivity( 4939): Saving session

This indicates that it detected a touch event inside the mask image boundaries, and recognized it as a button press for N64 button "9" (C-pad Left).  I am a little surprised there is only one event logged, though.  Could you run that same test again, and this time press all the imaginary C-buttons like 4 times each (to see if they are all registering, or if it is hanging after just one).  If everything is working up to this point in the code, it must be broken somewhere later in the linkage with the input plug-in.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline xperia64

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #586 on: December 17, 2011, 07:24:50 PM »
I updated the logcat on my previous post

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #587 on: December 17, 2011, 07:35:00 PM »
Yep, seems to be just registering one event, and then no more.  Problem must be somewhere before this, let me put in some more log messages and I'll post another test.

I think that's the same logcat, actually (same PID, which is unlikely).  It must have not updated when you changed it.  I'll still put together that second test, though.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2011, 07:37:02 PM by Paul »
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #588 on: December 17, 2011, 08:23:45 PM »
Ok, please run the same test with this one (4 presses per C button).  Make sure the game is loaded first, of course:

Xperia Play, Test3
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline xperia64

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #589 on: December 17, 2011, 09:04:25 PM »
Here

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #590 on: December 17, 2011, 09:05:41 PM »
The c buttons seem to be positioned on top of the analog control.  That narrows down the search quite a bit.  Must be a problem in the loader.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #591 on: December 17, 2011, 09:19:10 PM »
Haha, wow.. I'm almost too embarrass to mention what the problem was, but here:
I had this:

Code: [Select]
                            // Button color mask image in BMP image format (doesn't actually get drawn)
                            masks[buttonCount] = new Image( resources, Globals.DataDir + "/skins/touchpads/" +
                                                            skin + "/" + filename + ".bmp" );
                            // Position (percentages of the screen dimensions):
                            xpercents[buttonCount] = toInt( section.get( "x" ), 0 );
                            ypercents[buttonCount] = toInt( section.get( "y" ), 0 );
                            buttonCount++;

Instead of this  :-[
Code: [Select]
                            // Button color mask image in BMP image format (doesn't actually get drawn)
                            masks[buttonCount] = new Image( resources, Globals.DataDir + "/skins/touchpads/" +
                                                            skin + "/" + filename + ".bmp" );
                            // Position (percentages of the screen dimensions):
                            xpercents[buttonCount] = toInt( section.get( "x" ), 0 );
                            ypercents[buttonCount] = toInt( section.get( "y" ), 0 );
                            masks[buttonCount].fitCenter( (int) ( (float) PAD_WIDTH * ((float) xpercents[buttonCount] / 100.0f) ),
                                                          (int) ( (float) PAD_HEIGHT * ((float) ypercents[buttonCount] / 100.0f) ),
                                                          PAD_WIDTH, PAD_HEIGHT );
                            buttonCount++;

So of course everything was sitting at (0,0) (the left touchpad).  I guess I better get some sleep..

ANYWAY, it will work now (assuming I didn't make any more dumb mistakes like that one):

--EDIT-- WRONG FILE!  OMG, I'm losing it!
« Last Edit: December 17, 2011, 09:31:08 PM by Paul »
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #592 on: December 17, 2011, 09:35:03 PM »
Ok, this should be the right one..

Xperia Play, RC2

Now I'm going to bed.  Tomorrow I'll work on updating the forum in preparation for the expected flood of new users after I post the app on the Android Market.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline xperia64

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #593 on: December 17, 2011, 10:19:40 PM »
Sounds good. If you make a donate version I WILL buy it

Offline Epic_bubble

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #594 on: December 18, 2011, 05:40:48 AM »
I noticed a very small bug in the setting. Auto frameskip is enabled by default but its doesn't skip frames, when its disabled it does skip frames.

This bug could be dealt with after pushing it to the android market though since its very minor to bother compiling two new builds for it.

Device: Xperia play
CPU: Qualcomm 1 GHz Scorpion (Snapdragon)
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Screen res: 854 ? 480
ROM: stock android 2.3.4 rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #595 on: December 18, 2011, 06:17:41 AM »
I think that's how it is supposed to behave.  When it is not "Auto", it skips the number of frames you specify.  When it is Auto, it decides internally how many frames it will skip to try and maintain the proper emulation speed (no idea how it makes this decision or even if that "auto" part works, to be honest - I just provided an interface to what was there).  Do you think this could be named something different to make it more clear?  Another thing that might confuse folks is that higher frameskip means lower FPS but higher emulation speed.  The whole concept of frameskip is very strange, but I guess it help in some cases.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2011, 06:19:30 AM by Paul »
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline scorpio16v

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #596 on: December 18, 2011, 06:40:31 AM »
I don't think there is a bug with auto-fs.
As I understand, if you test with gles2n64, the framerate is set in gles2n64rom.conf for some games.
You should test it with another game.

Another thing:
On tablets, it loads the wrong button skin on first time. If I go to the selection menue and than back to game, it loads the right one.

Disabling the sound brings some more frames for my tegra. But why is the sound more stuttering on tegra, like on exynos ?

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #597 on: December 18, 2011, 06:52:16 AM »
Which button skin does it load on the first run?  Also, just so I understand the behavior, all you do is go to the selection menu (without selecting something) and back to the game and then it had the correct one?  Let me write a more verbose test for you to run to see whats going on here.

As for sound being more stutery on Tegra, the only thing I can think is because it doesn't have Neon, so it isn't taking advantage of the Neon-specific optimizations.  Stuttery audio typically means slowed-down emulation.. does this happen for every game (including Mario64), or just some of them?  Does the audio quality improve if you disable the video plug-in (to rule out any issues with the audio plug-in itself)?
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline scorpio16v

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #598 on: December 18, 2011, 07:12:04 AM »
If I load a game the first time, or if I change the videoplugin, it loads the Mupenplus-ae-analog skin. But under cange, it shows the correct analog-tablet skin.
I must go in the list and press the back-button ( don't need to choose the skin from the list ).
Than it loads the right skin.
If I start the game again, it didn't happen.

For sound. Yes, if I disable the video plugin the sound is smooth. Mario is no problem. But on games like Banjo-Tooie you can hear only sound fragments and the framerate drops under 10 frames.
I think you are right with your guess that the missing Neon is the problem.
In direct comparsion between my tagra phone and the tablet, is a light framedop, most likely caused by the higher resolution of the tablets screen.

Offline Epic_bubble

  • long
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #599 on: December 18, 2011, 07:14:20 AM »
I think that's how it is supposed to behave.  When it is not "Auto", it skips the number of frames you specify.  When it is Auto, it decides internally how many frames it will skip to try and maintain the proper emulation speed (no idea how it makes this decision or even if that "auto" part works, to be honest - I just provided an interface to what was there).  Do you think this could be named something different to make it more clear?  Another thing that might confuse folks is that higher frameskip means lower FPS but higher emulation speed.  The whole concept of frameskip is very strange, but I guess it help in some cases.

Ah I see I though that when Auto was disabled then it would disable frame skipping all together, I didn't think it would start using manual.

Anyway I set manual skipping to 0 and its fine now :)
Device: Xperia play
CPU: Qualcomm 1 GHz Scorpion (Snapdragon)
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Screen res: 854 ? 480
ROM: stock android 2.3.4 rooted