Author Topic: Alpha Testing Underway!  (Read 305711 times)

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #60 on: November 06, 2011, 12:48:58 PM »
The alpha test issue was quite simple to fix you can try it here, there are still some related issues remaining.

Thanks!  I finished incorporating the alpha test changes.  You were right about performance being affected (Mario64 drops to about 15 FPS)
« Last Edit: November 06, 2011, 01:06:00 PM by Paul »
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline xperia64

  • Moderator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #61 on: November 06, 2011, 04:28:05 PM »
Cant wait for the plugin to be working ;)
then kirby 64 should actually work

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #62 on: November 06, 2011, 06:37:57 PM »
So I finally figured out why I'm having problems with the state changes (haven't figured out the solution yet though).  What happens is a notification icon goes into the status bar, with the intent to start the SDLActivity.  When you press home, the emulator pauses, and the app instance goes into the background.  So far everything is fine.  Then, pressing the notification icon starts the SDLActivity like it's supposed to, BUT IT'S NOT THE SAME APP INSTANCE!  In other words, the emulator ends up running twice (the original instance is still paused and in the background).  It's a completely new sandbox - it loads the libraries up again and everything, and all of the static variables are reset.  There is no interaction at all between the two instances.

I'm sure the solution to this problem is in the sourcecode that Epic_bubble pointed me to.  I just have to study it a little closer to figure out what I'm doing differently.  At least now that I know WHAT the problem is, I'll have a better chance of solving it.

--EDIT-- Ok, I think I know what's wrong.  Looks like I have to set a couple flags in my status bar notification:
Code: [Select]
notification.flags = Notification.FLAG_ONGOING_EVENT | Notification.FLAG_NO_CLEAR;   
 notificationIntent.setFlags(Intent.FLAG_ACTIVITY_CLEAR_TOP | Intent.FLAG_ACTIVITY_SINGLE_TOP);
And then set another attribute in the manifest:
Code: [Select]
android:launchMode="singleTask"Not sure if that's everything, but I'll see if that helps..

--EDIT 2-- Darn, that didn't fix it.  More digging, I guess..

--EDIT 3--Ha!  I got it.  I was also using the wrong context when set the notification's "last event info".  The app resumes and the emulation starts back up.  Unfortunately, there is still a problem - it goes into a black screen.  I'm pretty sure this is related to the following message in logcat:
Code: [Select]
11-06 20:31:00.355: DEBUG/PhoneWindow(18610): couldn't save which view has focus because the focused view paulscode.android.mupen64plus.SDLSurface@4050f8c0 has no id.This message has been around since I started the app, but I never got around to figuring out how to give the SDLSurface an ID.  Time to do some googling..

--EDIT 4--Ok, fixed the ID problem, but still a black screen on resume :(  I'm thinking maybe it is something to do with the GL context.  I'll have to do more digging tomorrow after work.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2011, 08:54:01 PM by Paul »
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Mats

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #63 on: November 07, 2011, 01:05:37 AM »
i cant wait :-D

Offline Mats

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #64 on: November 07, 2011, 02:42:46 AM »
will the emulator go slower with the gui ? and all they tests with the other video plugin doesnt work :-(  on xperia x8 armv6 600mhz :(

Offline koekje

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #65 on: November 07, 2011, 04:32:51 AM »
I think the GUI will not affect the speed of the emulator since it has nothing to do with the graphics plugin.
Device: HTC Desire Z ( G2/Vision )
CPU: 1497 MHz Scorpion processor,  Qualcomm MSM 7230 chipset
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Resolution: 480 x 800
Rom: Cyanogenmod 7.1, 2.3.4 rooted

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #66 on: November 07, 2011, 04:40:27 AM »
will the emulator go slower with the gui ?
No, the GUI is a separate component which will not be running while the emulator is running.  It will use some memory of course, but that shouldn't affect anything.

and all they tests with the other video plugin doesnt work :-(  on xperia x8 armv6 600mhz :(
What does the app do specifically?  Could you post a logcat output after experiencing the problem?
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Mats

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #67 on: November 07, 2011, 05:28:00 AM »
The app wont start it goes to black screen in 8 sec and the app shuts down.it with gles2n64 plugin and with the other. to
say it easy the app like is over 2 mb doesnt
start :-(
« Last Edit: November 07, 2011, 06:37:29 AM by Mats »

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #68 on: November 07, 2011, 03:42:48 PM »
It is crashing while attempting to load the video plug-in.  I expect this is because of the VFP flags I added.  I'll remove them since they didn't really improve performance.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Mats

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #69 on: November 07, 2011, 03:46:14 PM »
It is crashing while attempting to load the video plug-in.  I expect this is because of the VFP flags I added.  I'll remove them since they didn't really improve performance.
Thanks so it will work then ?

Offline Paul

  • Administrator
  • double
  • *****
  • Posts: 3495
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • PaulsCode.Com
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #70 on: November 07, 2011, 08:10:40 PM »
I fixed one problem with the Activity resume code.  It seems that SurfaceView.surfaceDestroyed is called when the home button is pressed, which means that it needs to be recreated on resuming the Activity.  On resuming, surfaceCreated and surfaceChanged are called, and the EGL context is lost.  To work around this, I called initEGL again to create a new EGL context.  Unfortunately, I still have a black screen, so the problem is not fixed yet.  I've been using the code for fceudroid for comparison, but I can't see what I'm doing differently.  There aren't any error messages - just a black screen.  The problem isn't specific to the SurfaceView and the EGLSurface - the virtual gamepad (an extension of plain old View) is also not visible.  I'm definitely scratching my head on this one.
Device: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
CPU: TI OMAP4460, 1.2 GHz (dual core, ARM Cortex-A9)
GPU: PowerVR SGX540, 307 MHz
RAM: 1 GB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: omni-4.4.4-20141014-toro-FML KitKat 4.4.4, rooted

Device: Eee PC 1015PEM
CPU: Intel Atom N550, 1.5 GHz (dual core, x86)
GPU: Intel GMA 3150, 200 MHz (dual core)
RAM: 2GB
Resolution: 1024 x 600
Rom: android-x86-4.3-20130725 Jelly Bean 4.3, rooted

Offline Mats

  • int
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #71 on: November 08, 2011, 05:37:30 AM »
could you make a test without vfp flags ?

Offline koekje

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #72 on: November 08, 2011, 04:13:25 PM »
Hey Paul, the rice port is not finished right?

Crualfoxhound just posted something on FPSE forum that the new version of N64oid will have high res texture support and it works great according to him.
Device: HTC Desire Z ( G2/Vision )
CPU: 1497 MHz Scorpion processor,  Qualcomm MSM 7230 chipset
GPU: Adreno 205
RAM: 512 MB
Resolution: 480 x 800
Rom: Cyanogenmod 7.1, 2.3.4 rooted

Offline Ganster41

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #73 on: November 08, 2011, 04:21:01 PM »
Hmm, and why emulator work on my device with same CPU, as in X8? May be problem in Android version/screen resolution?
Device: LG LU-6200
CPU: Qualcomm MSM8660 2x1.5 GHz Cortex-A8 cores
GPU: Adreno 220
RAM: 1024 MB
Resolution: 720 x 1280
Rom: Stock Android 4.1

Offline crualfoxhound

  • byte
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Testing Underway!
« Reply #74 on: November 08, 2011, 04:26:06 PM »
Yes hi Res pack support on n64oid work brilliant.
Hunt for the texture pack. I think I had all mine from emutalk
Download,extract the folder, place the folder in n64oid-hires_textures on SD card
same place you find you save,config,folders.
then load the game and enjoy new textures
Just awsome.

Catch ya later..
Device.

Samsung galaxy note 2 N7100